KOREAN: Sujaebi

November 14, 2006 at 9:01 pm Leave a comment

I love, love, loved this dish when I was in Korea. It’s usually made with shellfish in it, but I got the cook at my favorite restaurant to give me her recipe which was made without the little creatures. I finally got around to trying it out this week, and it was fabulous. This recipe is not suited to leftovers though. I apologize to you, Inyoung. When I sampled the leftovers for myself, they didn’t even compare to the fresh bowl I had on Tuesday.


7 cups anchovy or beef broth
1 pound of store-bought sujaebi flakes or torn-up pieces of homemade dough (mix flour and water and make a dough out of it)
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp black pepper
1 carrot, sliced
1 small onion, sliced
1 small zucchini, sliced
2 cloves of garlic, sliced
1 medium potato, sliced
2 green onions, chopped
2 eggs
kim OR nori flakes (seaweed)
sesame seeds

1. Bring the broth to a boil. Drop in your flakes of dough if you’re using homemade ones. If you’re using store-bought flakes, add them after the vegetables have cooked for 10 minutes.
2. Add all of the vegetables and simmer until cooked.
3. Whip two eggs in a small bowl and gently mix them into the soup, not breaking them up too much. Cook until firm.
4. Top with seaweed flakes and sesame seeds and serve.

Entry filed under: Dairy-Free, Korean. Tags: , , , , .

NORTH AMERICAN: Sloppy Joes FRENCH: Garlic String Beans

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


