CALLING ALL CHEFS

June 16, 2007 at 7:26 pm 2 comments

I have a challenge for you. Let me explain it.

This last winter, I visited our local food bank because they were looking for volunteer teachers. They wanted people who could help the food bank customers make meals out of the food they’ve been given. “So here’s a bag of peppers, and here are some great ways you can cook them….” That kind of thing. Even though I knew that creating simple recipes was something I would really love to do, I decided not to volunteer at that point because I was so incredibly busy.

Then my husband lost his job.

Then summer came, and I was out of a job.

Then on Tuesday, I became one of the food bank customers myself.

Finding those recipes is suddenly a very pressing matter.

So here is my challenge for you. Over the next few months, I’ll give you some ingredients and see what you can make out of them.

Challenge #1: You have one dollar and a 10-pound sack of potatoes. You do not need to use that dollar to buy: oil, salt, or pepper. Give me one recipe. Let’s see how creative you can be.

One thing I realized I could make was my Tortilla de Patatas recipe. One onion is 79 cents, and this recipe only calls for one tablespoon of chopped onion. Eggs are 99 cents a dozen, and this recipe calls for three.

What can you do?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ITALIAN: Spring Butterflies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  August 31, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    potato galette? a small container of milk, with some cheese (whatever’s leftover and around the house), and egg…slice up the potatoes really really thin, scatter them in a casserole. meanwhile, puree the milk with cheese and one raw egg…pour over the potato slices and bake.or of course mashed potatoes…or twice baked potatoes..mrm…i love potatoes. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Cerise  |  November 26, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Wow, I’m late to this discussion, but of course there’s always potato soup, which I eat a lot in the winter and which is mad cheap. An onion, a can of milk, and some canned or frozen corn can make a lot of potato soup, especially with creative seasonings (think dill or cumin seeds). Warm, savory, and very filling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


